Chelsea’s no.1 goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois thinks both he and Liverpool’s Loris Karius have been stitched up the past few days by referees.
The Belgian’s team were thumped 4-1 by Watford at Vicarage Road last night, with Courtois giving away an early penalty for a foul on Gerard Deulofeu.
Like with Karius on Harry Kane at Anfield, Courtois rushed out, tried to stop himself, but the attacker left his foot in to make sure he made contact and went over.
The spot-kick was converted and the tone was set for our rival’s defeat.
“I think we all know these kind of players,” Courtois told Sky Sports, cited by the Echo.
“It happens everywhere in the world, this type of striker sees the goalkeeper coming for the ball.
“I make myself as small as possible with my belly on the ground and he manufactures the contact. I’m sorry but I don’t think it’s a penalty.
“Yesterday (in Liverpool and Tottenham’s 2-2 draw) we saw when the goalkeeper comes out and is late you make yourself small but the striker puts his foot there and it’s a penalty, every time this will happen.
“He left his foot and dives, it’s not a penalty.”
To be fair, there’s not much debate about the Watford penalty last night in our opinion… Deulofeu might have been looking for it, but it’s a blatant foul. Courtois mistimes it and swipes him. It’s much more of a stonewaller than Karius’s on Kane, anyway, which barring the offside, probably was a penalty as well.
The 4-1 defeat though is very handy for Liverpool. We’re now a point clear of the Blues having played an equal number of games, with Antonio Conte’s team facing both Manchester clubs in February.
Hopefully we can create some distance between ourselves and them.