Adrian, making his full debut for the Reds in the UEFA Super Cup, gave away a penalty which was converted by Jorginho, but there was no contact made by the goalkeeper on Tammy Abraham.
With Liverpool 2-1 up thanks to an excellent strike from Sadio Mane, the referee pointed to the spot as Abraham went down.
On first viewing, it looked like a rash decision from the stopper to dive in, but there was no contact made on the striker – certainly nothing that warranted him falling to the ground.
VAR did check the decision, but the spot kick was allowed to stand. Jorginho calmly slotted home, making the scoreline 2-2.
This isn’t the best angle, but there was no contact whatsoever.
— Firash Mohamed (@Phiraash) August 14, 2019
Adrian should not have given the forward the chance to go to the floor, but with VAR, you expect it to be overturned.