This is a brilliant point that’s gone viral on Twitter after being made by the superb Tactical Times account…
They rightly note an incident in Liverpool’s victory over Arsenal, where the assistant didn’t give Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang offside in the second-half – despite the forward clearly being ahead of our last man – due to the new rules which state the linesman should only flag once the attacker touches the ball.
But without the flag being raised, Joel Matip got across, defended well and put the ball out for a corner – which the Gunners were then allowed to take…
If the flag was raised immediately, Matip wouldn’t have had to conceded a corner.
Here's my latest VAR related question.
Pépé plays in Aubameyang, who is clearly offside, and the linesman doesn't flag as per his instructions. Matip gets across to make a block, Arsenal win a corner.
If Arsenal scored from this corner, are they not benefiting from an offside? pic.twitter.com/A4zRA9F9EK
— The Tactical Times (@Tactical_Times) August 26, 2019
There are interpretations of the rule that if Arsenal’s corner had resulted in a goal, it would have been disallowed – but this proves a fundamental flaw in the new law.
What is the point in a corner even being allowed to happen if no goal that comes from it will be deemed legal?
Answers on a postcard!