Bobby Firmino put the ball in the back of the net at Villa Park yesterday, but the goal was ruled out as the Brazilian’s armpit was offside.
I’m not joking – during the game, that’s how the Premier League chose to explain away a controversial (and wrong) decision.
Liverpool's Roberto Firmino was flagged offside before putting the ball in the net against Aston Villa and the decision was confirmed by VAR
— Premier League (@premierleague) November 2, 2019
Luckily, the Reds went on to win the game 2-1, and there won’t be a huge storm over us being robbed, but the PL maintains that the match officials’ call was correct.
But you know we’re in trouble when we’re agreeing with the likes of Andy Gray, but the former Everton player is spot on here.
Take a watch of the video below (via beIn Sports):
If Andy Gray, of all people, is saying a Liverpool goal should have stood – then YOU KNOW it should have stood https://t.co/CXaiNrXqJ2
— Empire of the Kop (@empireofthekop) November 2, 2019