(Video) ‘Never been the rule’ – Ian Wright agrees with Michael Owen over Liverpool refereeing call

Posted by

Ian Wright admitted that Liverpool were unfortunate to have a penalty awarded against them after Thiago Alcantara’s minor contact with Gabriel Jesus’ boot.

It was a verdict shared by former Red Michael Owen who insisted there was a lack of a clear precedent in place for awarding a spot-kick against the Spanish playmaker.

Whilst the visitors’ performance was hardly worthy of taking home maximum points, Jurgen Klopp will have every right to feel a little aggrieved after two costly errors denied us at least a share of the spoils.

You can catch the clip below, courtesy of Premier League Productions (via @Sportarshh):


More Stories Ian Wright Michael Owen


  1. They should not spoil football for us. No penalty and VAR can be excused for this text book foul but what explanation do they have for not awarding the handball against Arsenal?

  2. Hi
    Last Season Liverpool lost the premier league because of the mistakes by referees for example
    Spurs game in London Liverpool denied clear pantly
    also kane should be sent off. and…….. Etc
    This season in London again at arsenal. Panrlty given against Liverpool by the referee wrongly

  3. Was there a foul or not if there was a foul then it was a penalty. That’s all I want to hear. I don’t want a description of a half foul because there is nothing like that.

  4. There’s nothing like a slight touch , it was a foul because the Liverpool guy missed the ball and showed interest of kicking Jesus. The referee was right to award the penalty because he was so near that he saw the magnitude of the force used on Jesus, unlike the camera that was at a distance

  5. If it was a foul then Thiago should of been given a yellow card and as everyone in the saw it didn’t happen so why was it a penalty, a foul wasn’t near him he was tackles by Thiago that’s the end of it,so I say it was a wrongly given penalty.theybqhere robbed of a penalty of Thier own for a hand ball,the first goal WAS OFFSIDE Saka with the first touch at the halfway line,

  6. The referee on VAR should have called the center referee but they don’t on my side even saka was offside for the first goal

Comments are closed