Liverpool confirm 2014/15 Squad

Posted by

Liverpool has officially confirmed their squad to be competing in the English Premier League. Here is the squad explained.


Due to the closing of the Transfer Window, every team is required to submit a 25-man squad. Though this is the case there are several rulings, which alleviate this rule, which can be quite helpful. However a maximum of 17 players can be named in this squad who are not ‘Home-Grown’ (be registered with a club within the FA or the Welsh FA for around 3 years before they are 21 years of age).


Due to Liverpool’s youthful squad it is extremely helpful because a player under the age of 21 does not need to be registered by the club and can be called up to the first team if required.


The squad, which was released by Brendan Rodgers, is listed below:


Note that a home-grown player has (HG) and an Under 21 player has (U-21).




Simon Mignolet

Brad Jones (HG)




Martin Skrtel

Dejan Lovren

Alberto Moreno

Javier Manquillo (U-21)

Mamadou Sakho

Jon Flanagan (U-21)

Jose Enrique

Kolo Toure

Glen Johnson (HG)




Steven Gerrard (HG)

Jordan Henderson (HG)

Raheem Sterling (U-21)

Emre Can (U-21)

Philippe Coutinho

Lazar Markovic (U-21)

Joe Allen (HG)

Adam Lallana (HG)

Lucas Leiva

Suso (U-21)




Daniel Sturridge (HG)

Mario Balotelli

Fabio Borini (HG)

Rickie Lambert (HG)


The next time that this team can be altered is the 1st of January 2015, which is the start of the next transfer window. With this said any free transfers who are signed are able to be registered outside of these dates as they do not belong to a club. Victor Valdes who has been heavily linked to Liverpool comes under this field of players after being released by Barcelona and is able to be added if signed by the club.


If you think that Rodgers should have included or excluded a player please comment or tweet me.


Please follow me on Twitter: @AymonBertah