Greatest All-Time Liverpool foreign XI – With 70s legend, Luis Suarez & iconic Finn

Posted by

Have all your favourites been included? We’ve put together a list of the Reds’ best foreign buys…

Liverpool are welcoming back some greats of the past on Sunday for the Anfield charity game, which will see two teams – one captained by Steven Gerrard, and the other by Jamie Carragher – face off.

Miralem Pjanic to Liverpool – six facts fans should know about Steven Gerrard replacement
Revealed: Theo Walcott outlines Arsenal future amid rumours of Liverpool interest
Liverpool transfer news

Unfortunately, time does not always allow for the best of the best to come together. In the list below, we’ve put together our greatest all-time Liverpool foreign XI…

Bruce Grobbelaar (Zimbabwe)

The veteran ‘keeper played over 600 games for us between 1980 and 1994, winning six first division titles and the 1984 European Cup. His record of success allows him to narrowly edge out Pepe Reina.

Mark Lawrenson (Republic of Ireland)

We’ve not been burdened by a whole lot of great right-backs in recent years, and Lawrenson is still by far and away the pick of the bunch. The Irishman was a five time first division winner, and lifted the 1984 European Cup.

John Arne Riise (Norway)

The flame-haired full-back was a popular figure at Anfield, and is among those that will return to the club for the charity game this weekend. He made over 300 appearances for the Reds, scoring 30 goals in all competitions.

Daniel Agger (Denmark)

Another extremely popular player at Anfield. There were more than a few Liverpool fans who were disappointed to see him go last summer, after he’d played over 200 games and established his loyalty with several tattoos.

Sami Hyypia (Finland)

One of the heroes of our 2005 Champions League success, as well as the treble of 2001. The Finn was a near ever-present during his time at the club, providing Jamie Carragher with the perfect defensive partner.

Next Page
Page 1 of 3
Prev Page
More Stories Bruce Grobbelaar Daniel Agger Dirk Kuyt Fernando Torres Jan Molby John Arne Riise Luis Suarez Mark Lawrenson Sami Hyypia Steve Heighway Xabi Alonso