Liverpool supporters were up in arms on Tuesday night, when Napoli were gifted a penalty with little time remaining on the clock.
VAR was not consulted because the referee felt confident that Andy Robertson did foul Jose Collejon, but replays revealed the forward made a mountain out of a mole hill.
Something similar happened for Real Madrid the following day. Gareth Bale scored a wonderful goal, but it was chalked off.
VAR was consulted and the match officials felt that the Welshman deliberately handled the ball. The replays show it did hit his arm, but it seemed to be in a natural position to me and didn’t appear to give him an unfair advantage.
You’ve also got to question why the referee in Liverpool’s game didn’t go to VAR, but the one in Real Madrid’s game did. I’m not saying it’s wrong, but for me, the system is flawed.
Have a watch of the video below (via BT Sport):
One of the best goals that never was?!
Gareth Bale scores what looked like an incredible effort against PSG 😳
But VAR rules it out for handball 😤 pic.twitter.com/0tjV7gaf0X
— Football on BT Sport (@btsportfootball) September 18, 2019