Liverpool submit updated Europa League squad list – Flanno and Bogdan out, Caulker and Ward in

Posted by

We just submitted our updated Europa League squad list to UEFA, according to the Echo.

UEFA permit clubs to make three changes ahead of the start of the knock-out phase of the tournament, and we made use of all three.

Out go long-term injury absentees Joe Gomez and Danny Ings, while Adam Bogdan is also dropped. Steven Caulker, Joao Carlos Teixeira, and Danny Ward are their three replacements.

The Bogdan situation is a curious one – although he has clearly been suffering from poor form in his recent first team starts, it means if Simon Mignolet were to pick up a knock we’d be left with Danny Ward as our only choice. Ward clearly has potential, but considering he is yet to make a competitive appearance for the club, it undoubtedly represents a gamble.

It certainly says a lot about Klopp’s opinion of the Hungarian – surely he will now be sold at the end of the season.

There is also no place in the squad for the recently returned Jon Flanagan. Perhaps Klopp is now prioritising the Europa League and sees Flanno as a steady hand to use solely in league games?

Five players we should have signed
Benteke enjoying life at Liverpool
Benteke can be as good as Lewandowski

The only side not to make any changes to their squad were Napoli.

Liverpool Europa League Squad: Simon Mignolet, Danny Ward, Nathaniel Clyne, Steven Caulker, Kolo Toure, Dejan Lovren, Alberto Moreno, Mamadou Sakho, Martin Skrtel, Lucas Leiva, Jordan Henderson, James Milner, Emre Can, Joe Allen, Philippe Coutinho, Adam Lallana, Roberto Firmino, Divock Origi, Joao Teixeira, Daniel Sturridge, Christian Benteke

U21s who do not need to be registered: Jordon Ibe, Brad Smith, Cameron Brannagan, Pedro Chirivella, Jordan Rossiter


More Stories Adam Lallana Alberto Moreno Brad Smith Cameron Brannagan Christian Benteke Daniel Sturridge Danny Ward Dejan Lovren Divock Origi Emre Can James Milner Joao Teixeira Joe Allen Jordan Henderson Jordan Rossiter Jordon Ibe Kolo Toure Lucas Leiva Mamadou Sakho Martin Skrtel Nathaniel Clyne Pedro Chirivella Philippe Coutinho Roberto Firmino Simon Mignolet Steven Caulker